Header Background

Gibraltar Online Gaming Laws

Gibraltar is a British Crown Dependency that is self-governing. The United Kingdom is responsible for the foreign affairs of the region, but Gibraltar itself retains independence in most legislative matters, including taxation.

It has been providing licenses to gambling sites since 1998 and is one of the best-known gambling jurisdictions in the world.

Many gambling operators, particularly those from the UK, have chosen to locate their operations in Gibraltar. As a result, the gambling industry is now the largest employer in the region.

Gibraltar is a full member of the European Union, and it appears on the “white-list” issued by the United Kingdom Gambling Commission.

As a result, gambling sites licensed in Gibraltar are able to offer their services to residents of the UK.

Gibraltar has an excellent reputation for its regulatory practices. We have provided more information on this gambling jurisdiction below.

Gambling Legislation in Gibraltar

Gibraltar began licensing gambling sites in 1998, one of the first regions to do so. It has become recognized as something of an online gambling center and is home to a number of betting and gaming operations.

Licensing and regulation originally fell under the remit of the Gibraltar Regulatory Authority (GRA).

The GRA Gambling Division was subsequently incorporated into the Gambling Division of the Government of Gibraltar, which now has the responsibility for licensing and regulatory matters.

It operates under the Gibraltar Gambling Commissioner, appointed under the provisions of the Gambling Act of 2005. This was the act introduced to lay down the legislative framework for the regulation of online gambling in Gibraltar.

The Gibraltar Licensing Authority

It’s the Gibraltar Licensing Authority which actually issues licenses to online gambling operators, and they are responsible for investigating the eligibility and suitability of applicants. They make it clear that there are very strict requirements to obtain a license.

Operators must have a proven track record in gambling and be of good financial standing with a realistic business plan. There are a total of seven different types of license that the Licensing Authority can issue, as follows:

  • A bookmaker’s license
  • A betting intermediary’s license
  • A gaming operator’s license
  • A gaming machine license
  • A lottery promoter’s license
  • A pools promoter’s license
  • A remote gambling license

The Gambling Commissioner is responsible for ensuring that license holders conduct their operations in accordance with the required conditions. All licensees must agree to be bound by the code of practice issued by The Gambling Commissioner.

They must further agree that their operations shall be effectively controlled and managed from Gibraltar, providing lists of key personnel if so requested.

Licensees are also required to adhere to certain advertising guidelines and employ sufficient data protection procedures.

They must also produce audited accounts and provide them to the Licensing Authority on an annual basis. Licenses issued can be revoked or suspended at any time if deemed necessary.