Header Background

Kahnawake Gambling Jurisdiction

The Mohawk Territory of Kahnawake is located in Quebec, Canada. It’s an Indian reserve that’s about 48.05 square kilometers. There are several Kanien (’kehá:ka) territories that are part of the Mohawk Nation, and Kahnawake is one of them.

When the gambling industry went online, Kahnawake was one of the first regions in the world to recognize the potential that the industry had.

Subsequently, it became one of the earliest gambling jurisdictions in the world and is today home to the . Basically, the Commission provides gaming licenses to online casinos, poker rooms, sports books, and other online gambling outfits.

The Commission has stringent provisions that the applicant has to adhere to for it to be granted a license to operate as an online gambling provider.

The Kahnawake Gaming Commission

The Kahnawake Gaming Commission was first set up in 1996, on the 10th of June. The establishment of the Commission became possible once the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake passed what is known as the Kahnawake Gaming Law (MCR No. 26 / 1996-97).

On July 8th, 1999, the Commission, for the first time, enacted its regulations concerning Interactive Gaming. Since then, the Commission has steadily been engaged in licensing and regulating online gambling outfits from all over the world.

The Kahnawake Gaming Commission is basically a regulatory body that grants online gambling licenses to organizations looking to provide online gambling opportunities to players over the Internet.

The Commission has also granted gambling licenses to three land-based poker rooms that happen to be located inside Kahnawake.

The Kahnawake Gaming Commission has three members, each member working through a two-year term. The members are appointed by the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake, which is the body that governs the Commission.

Types of Licenses Issued by the Kahnawake Gaming Commission

Currently, the Kahnawake Gaming Commission issues four different types of licenses. All these licenses are issued as per the Regulations for Interactive Gaming that the Commission laid down in July, 1999 which were subsequently amended. The most recent amendment was on June 2, 2010.

The Four Different Types of Licenses That the Kahnawake Gaming Commission Grants

  • Interactive Gaming License (IGC)
  • Client Provider Authorization (CPA)
  • Secondary Client Provider Authorization (Secondary CPA)
  • Key Person License (KPL)

To apply for a license with the Kahnawake Gaming Commission, the applicant has to pay an initial fee to the Commission. This fee is $25,000 for a Client Provider Authorization license.

There’s also an application fee of $5,000 for each Key Person License. Both of these fees are refundable if the Commission rejects an application.

You can read more about these license types at the official site of the Kahnawake Gaming Commission. Another type of license that the Commission issues is a Poker Room License (PRL).

This type of license is issued to poker rooms operating within the Mohawk Territory of Kahnawake, as per the Commission’s Regulations concerning Poker Rooms, which was amended as recently as April 21, 2010.

The Kahnawake Gaming Commission and Other Regulatory Bodies

The Kahnawake Gaming Commission doesn’t work in isolation. Over the years, it has been working together with other regulatory bodies as well to make online gambling smoother and easier for players.

The Commission has been cooperating with the Financial Services Regulatory Commission of Antigua and Barbuda since 2005, when it entered into an agreement with this body through a memorandum of understanding.

The Kahnawake Gaming Commission also has a similar arrangement with the Lotteries and Gaming Authority of the Government of Malta through another such memorandum of understanding the two parties who entered in 2006.