Header Background

Guide to Aussie Millions

The Aussie Millions is a in Melbourne, Australia.

The inaugural event was run in 1998 and has been run every year since attracting some of the biggest and brightest names in the game.

Commonly known as the largest poker tournament in the Southern Hemisphere, the Main Event of the Aussie Millions usually generates a several million dollar prize pool up for grabs.

The Tournaments

Each year the tournament is a series of preliminary events that lead up to the featured Main Event of the series. The preliminary events range in buy-ins and game type much like the World Series of Poker. The entire series is run over the span of about three weeks usually in mid to late January.

The Main Event started in 1998 as a $1,000 Limit Hold em event that brought in 74 players. In 2001, the series was shifted to January, and the Main Event buy-in was increased to $5,000 in 2002. In 2003, the Main Event was changed to a $10,000 buy-in and attracted 122 entrants. The event has continued to grow with the 2016 Main Event drawing 732 entrants at the buy-in of $10,600.

The structure of the Aussie Millions Main Event is a bit different from most major poker tour main events but is one that most serious players and professionals are a big fan of. The tournament starts on Day 1 at eight-handed tables and continues like that until the field is shrunk down to 36 players. At this point, the tournament switches to a six-max format (six players at each table). As this is a pro-friendly structure, there have been some grumbles from amateur players, though, most are happy to make it that far and to be able to have the privilege to complain about that.

Past Winners of the Aussie Millions Main Event

Below we’ve compiled the list of past winners of the Aussie Millions Main event as well as the name of the event (as it has evolved over the years) and what each player received for taking home the victory.

Year Championship Winner Prize
1998 Australian Poker Championships (Limit Hold’em) Alex Horowitz $25,900
1999 Australian Poker Championships (Pot-Limit Hold’em) Milo Nadalin $38,150
2000 Australian Poker Championships Leo Boxell $65,225
2001 Australian Poker Championships Sam Korman $53,025
2002 Australian Poker Championships John Maver $150,000
2003 Crown Australian Poker Championships Peter Costa $394,870
2004 Crown Australian Poker Championships Tony Bloom $426,500
2005 Crown Australian Poker Championships Jamil Dia $1,000,000
2006 Crown Australian Poker Championships Lee Nelson $1,295,800
2007 Crown Australian Poker Championships Gus Hansen $1,500,000
2008 Crown Australian Poker Championships Alexander Kostritsyn  $1,650,000
2009 Crown Australian Poker Championship Stewart Scott $2,000,000
2010 Crown Australian Poker Championship Tyron Krost $2,000,000
2011 Crown Australian Poker Championship David Gorr $2,000,000
2012 Crown Australian Poker Championship Oliver Speidel $1,600,000
2013 Crown Australian Poker Championship Mervin Chan $1,600,000
2014 Aussie Millions Poker Championship Ami Barer $1,600,000
2015 Aussie Millions Poker Championship Manny Stavropoulos $1,385,500
2016 Aussie Millions Poker Championship Ari Engel $1,600,000

High Roller and Super High Roller Events

In addition to the other preliminary events, the Aussie Millions have added two special events to appeal to the high stakes (“nosebleed”) players and the wealthy. They started with adding the A$100,000 event in 2006 and the A$250,000 event in 2011. Both events have been run every year since.

While most players aren’t able to play in this size event, it is still a fan favorite as it draws out the best in the world and is an absolute must watch if you are there for the event. Below we’ve put together a list of the winners as well as how many entries (including rebuys) there was each year.

High Roller - A$100,000

Year Winner Prize Entries Total Prize Pool
2006 John Juanda A$ 1,000,000 10 A$ 1,000,000
2007 Erick Lindgren A$ 1,000,000 18 A$ 1,800,000
2008 Howard Lederer A$ 1,250,000 25 A$ 2,500,000
2009 David Steicke A$ 1,200,000 23 A$ 2,300,000
2010 Daniel Shak A$ 1,200,000 24 A$ 2,400,000
2011 Sam Trickett A$ 1,520,000 38 A$ 3,800,000
2012 Dan Smith A$ 1,012,000 22 A$ 2,200,000
2013 Andrew Robl A$ 1,000,000 22 A$ 2,200,000
2014 Yevgeniy Timoshenko A$ 2,000,000 47 (29 Rebuys) A$ 7,486,000
2015 Richard Yong A$ 1,870,000 70 A$ 6,860,000
2016 Fabian Quoss A$ 1,446,480 41 (11 Rebuys) A$ 4,018,000

Super High Roller - A$250,000

Year Winner Prize Entries Total Prize Pool
2011 Erik Seidel A$ 2,500,000 20 A$ 5,000,000
2012 Phil Ivey A$ 2,000,000 16 A$ 4,000,000
2013 Sam Trickett A$ 2,000,000 18 A$ 4,500,000
2014 Phil Ivey A$ 4,000,000 30 (16 Rebuys) A$ 11,270,000
2015 Phil Ivey A$ 2,205,000 25 A$ 6,105,000
2016 Steve O’Dwyer A$ 951,960 16 (1 Rebuy) A$ 3,920,000